Her One and only Becky Wade
Book Review

Her One and Only by Becky Wade – Fall Head Over Heels for This Romance

About the BookHer One and only Becky Wade

Author: Becky Wade

Publisher: Bethany House

Source: Publisher Provided

Publication Date: 2016

Find the Review elsewhere:

Amazon ǀ Blogger ǀ Goodreads

Find the Book Elsewhere:

Amazon ǀ Barnes  & Noble ǀ Goodreads

Series: The Porter Family, Book 4

Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance, Mystery

Rating: 5 out of 5

REVIEW | Sometimes a wrapping can be deceiving, either for the good or bad. Other times it matches perfectly with the story we are about to step inside. Becky Wade’s novels fall into this ideal with class, grace and romcom bliss. Becky reemerged in the fiction game some five or six years back with the debut My Stubborn Heart, a story about a broken hockey player and the woman who helps him change. Then came the Porter’s, a family comprised of three elder brothers and their young, wild child of a sister Dru. Finally, we are honored to return to small-town Holley, Texas and meet the woman Dru grew up to be.  

BOOK REVIEW | A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade

Following a wild child series of mistakes, Dru Porter is finally “home.” In more ways than one. After letting her brothers pick her up after those mistakes, she joined for a tour with the Marines, and is now back in Holley where she works as a protection agent. Her latest client is Gray Fowler. An NFL superstar, Gray is dealing with a crazed stalker, but keeping his relationship with the beautiful and fierce Dru isn’t easy. As the two of them work together to root out the identity of the stalker, the stalker escalates. It’ll take Dru breaking the rule she promised herself she never would, and Gray breaking out of his protective outer shell to unmask this threat… and maybe to open their hearts to new possibilities.

That’s what love does. Love rescues. – Her One and Only

As is the norm with a Becky Wade novel, the signature style she gives each of her stories is displayed in beautiful form. Her One and Only sparkles with witty charm and emotionally charged acts of forgiveness, love and healing. Because Dru wasn’t front and center in comparison to her three older brothers, she was one of the most interesting characters. We only saw glimpses of her in the earlier books of the series and it made her story one most keenly anticipated. Reading about her journey (even in the aftermath rather than the present) is a rewarding experience like none other, especially considering it’s this that closes out the beautiful series that has been this family saga.

As usual, the story has a healthy dose of spark-infused banter between its protagonists. Dru is the rule keeper in this scenario while Gray is the devil-may-care football star who isn’t used to someone telling him “no.” Their opposing personalities and vision of the “rules” in their relationship makes for a fun read and experience. Some of the quips cause spontaneous laughter while some remind us of the power real, lasting love (based on more than chemistry) has. Gray is one of those men in need of shifting his lifestyle to better benefit not someone he’s come to love, but himself (as well as for the sake of another) because he’s otherwise unable to live life fully. Dru is a redeemed, beautiful soul wise to the world, but not jaded by it because she blames no one (outside herself) or nothing for the choices that led her to this place.

These books are written to be standalones if need be, but if you’ve not read a novel by Becky Wade, I’d recommend starting at the beginning with Undeniably Yours. It’s well worth it, plus will make the story arc (in this) between Meg and Bo all the more meaningful. The tease of a suspenseful mystery is also masterfully written.

Fans of authors like Melissa Tagg or Susan May Warren simply must read the novels Becky Wade pens. They’re insightful, humorous and unafraid to tackle some of life’s messier challenges. Her One and Only is no different. The only drawback is having to await to discover what Becky will next enchant readers with.

Synopsis: Gray Fowler, star NFL tight end, is being pursued by a stalker, so his team hires a protection agency to keep Gray under the watch of a bodyguard at all times. When Gray meets Dru Porter, an agent assigned to him, he’s indignant. How can an attractive young female half his size possibly protect him?

But Dru’s a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt. She’s also ferociously determined to uncover the identity of Gray’s stalker. And she’s just as determined to avoid any kind of romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past. But the closer they get to finding the stalker, the closer they grow to each other. As the danger rises, can Dru and Gray entrust their hearts–and their lives–to one another? – Goodreads

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s