book, Book Review

Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason

About the Book:Book - Nowhere to Turn
Author: Lynette Eason
Publisher: Revell
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2014
Find the Review elsewhere:
AmazonBloggerGoodreadsNovel Crossing
Find the Book Elsewhere:
Amazon Barnes & NobleCBDGoodreads
Series: Hidden Identity, book 2
Genre: Fiction; Mystery/Suspense
Rating: 4 out of 5

Review: In the suspense genre, there have been far too many stories to possibly pick out a favorite. Since more than one of these books often finds a place on the bookshelf, my opinion on a favorite suspense author wavers each time I read a new book from one of the five or so authors whose novels fall into this category and I regularly read. Lynette Eason’s follow up to her ongoing series has again thrown my “mental” rankings into turmoil. In it, we meet Dani Harding, a woman with an 11-year-old son and a husband, who is anything but loving. Instead he’s an abuser with a badge and a man who erases Dani’s cries for help by covering up any claims she makes to law enforcement. Dani finally gathers the courage to leave Kurt, only to learn that same day, Kurt has been killed. Assuming she’s finally safe, she returns in the hopes of rebuilding her life. Trouble again finds her when it becomes apparent someone is still out to do her harm – this leads her to Adam Buchanan, a former law enforcement agent now working with a private security firm… and someone with many secrets of his own.

As is the new standard in Christian fiction, this novel is one of the best if you’re craving a fast-paced mystery. The pace moves faster than most because of the subject matter and seems to take away more of the character interactions because of that, however, the author wisely gives us an epilogue that takes place a lengthy amount of time later, so that while the falling-in-love bit and healing happens “off screen,” I’ve no doubt that what in the interim is a genuine time of healing for everyone. If you aren’t as keen on the romance angle in suspense, this would be the proper novel to pick up. Dani’s reliance on Adam is more for safety and Adam’s interest in Dani is based on attraction (as well as a sense of justice and making her feel safe again) for the majority of the book’s primary story. This turns out to be an aspect I respected since too often the romance intermingles with the breath-catching suspense, two opposite genres attempt to co-exist and what usually happens is the romance comes off as improbable.

Another pleasant element from Lynette’s talent is the easy-going way in which she writes. This book reads easily and in spite of the thrill seeker plots, the book isn’t hard to enjoy because of the writing style – and of course, it helps that the pages fly by because the reader has a kind of compulsion to see the characters through to the end, mainly to escape the baddies and find a safety long overdue. Fans of Dani Pettrey or Irene Hannon won’t wish to miss these books. I’m not sure if this is my favorite of her books (of what I’ve read), however this new series is certainly shaping up to be one of the most exciting!

Synopsis: The day Danielle Harding takes her 11-year-old son, Simon, and flees from her abusive husband, is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe–but in reality, the danger has just begun. When Kurt was alive, he took something important to a mysterious person. That person wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires Adam Buchanan of Operation Refuge and goes into hiding. Unfortunately, she won’t be able to hide for long . . .

From the first breathless scene, this tension-laced story will hold readers in its iron grip. Bestselling author Lynette Eason propels readers along at a breakneck pace in a race to discover the truth and a better future. – Goodreads

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s