book

My Foolish Heart by Susan May Warren

About the Book:9781414334820-325x500
Author: Susan May Warren
Publisher: Tyndale
Publication Date: 2011
Find the review elsewhere:
AmazonGoodreadsNovel Crossing
Series: Deep Haven – book 4
Genre: Christian Fiction, Romance
Rating: 5 out of 5

Review: The novels set in the charming beauty of the small Minnesota town Deep Haven is where I was first introduced to best-selling author Susan May Warren. Here was an author who knew how to write compelling characters and keep us interested in their plight. When the 3-book set came to a close, I can remember writing an email to Warren asking if there would be more and if the witty best friend character of Liza would ever have her own story. Her response was that she would enjoy re-visiting the characters but it would ultimately be up to the sales of the books and the publisher. Now, many years later, she has again invited us back to the quaint haven and I am one reader that couldn’t be more thrilled. The story in this yarn revolves around the introverted Issy who, unbeknownst to everyone but her best friend is actually Miss Foolish Heart, a popular radio host who runs her own dating advice web page and hosting gig from her home – and all without having met Mr. Right. When Caleb Knight moves in next door, he is determined to keep his own secrets even as he finds a place in the community as the new football coach. Sparks fly between he and the fearful-of-everything Issy but could her own happily-ever-after really be right next door?

It has been a long time since I read a romantic comedy novel by Warren having become obsessed with her beautiful “Daughters of Fortune” series but if there is one series I am always giddy to re-visit it would be her “Deep Haven” novels. Issy was a new character in the charming canopy of familiar character – or she was a character I had forgotten, but either way, she was a fabulous heroine and a story that deserved to be told. ‘Heart’ sparkles with personality and isn’t a difficult book to read. The secondary characters in this scenario don’t hinder the prose but rather compliment it, especially the addition of Issy’s best friend. As much as I loved the introverted, Issy and the physically imperfect Caleb, I adored Seb and Lucy’s re-kindled romance – the forgiveness Lucy extended and the tender way Seb cherished her the second time around was that stuff romances are meant to be made of. Their past was just as scared, in different ways as Issy’s, one that she uses to cover her fear. I admire Susan for telling a story of two people who were emotional and physically scared in ways most characters are not; I found myself able to relate to Issy in more ways than one regardless of the fact that I haven’t had to go through all she did. Then Caleb, now here was a hero in every sense of the word. His character was a one hard to say good-bye too and lest I give away any spoilers, all I’ll say is that the cute ambiguous banter between Caleb and Issy is adorable. I wanted more.

It took me forever just to get through this book – and let me tell you, it was torture! I started it when there was a lull in review copies showing up in my mailbox, only to have to constantly put it aside. I finally finished it and it was worth every second – and certainly worth staying up late to read. Great characters, fabulous writing and quiet testaments to faith manes there’s nothing foolish about this book.

Leave a Comment

