random fun

Top Ten (Or Seven) Tuesday: Things on my Reading Wishlist

TTT_Logo-001Morning, lovelies. Today we are welcoming another week, another Tuesday and another edition of Top Ten Tuesday. Oh, my! This week’s topic isn’t about books that have me in a tizzy of anticipation or a themed topic in that regard and is instead asking what we’d like to see more of from authors. Although in my case, I’m being extra nit-picky and requesting things of authors I’d like to see less of… not sure how well that translates to this topic, but there you have it.

The official topic Jamie and the Broke and the Bookish ladies planned is…

Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist
 (if you could make authors write about these things you would. Could be a specific

Ideally, that wishlist would looking something like this:

TTT_Meme3 (Jan 21st)_3-001

1.) Contemporary Royals: there are likely dozens of stories out there that chronicle a fairytale set in our contemporary age, but reading Rachel Hauck’s beautiful Royal Wedding series has given me a special appreciation for how “realistic” the genre can be done and fond memories of Lori Wick’s novels. Translation: I want more fairytale-esque novels that fit into our world without conforming to it. What can I say? This girl is a sucker for a good prince-ly hero. (Do we always blame the accent…?)

2.) Better Endings: so many novels build up to a fantastic climax and then… fall flat. This is a conversation my mom and I have had many times over our many bookish journeys and while I’m not terribly picky since all I ask is that the character’s get the happy ending, however sometimes, a nonchalant ending is the biggest let-down a story can leave us with.

3.) Decisive Characters: it seems in fiction, so many character’s and their emotions are… well, I’m just going to say it, unnecessarily wishy-washy. I “get” how it helps create friction and in a sense, “mystery” to play up character’s that vacillate between moral choices or love, but it also wears very thin, making the reader want to wash their hands of the character. This is also going to relate to my 5th topic on the list, so for now, I’ll just say some characters (even endearing ones) need to grow a backbone.

4.) [Less] Insta-Love: like the heroines of novels, reader’s like to be “courted” with the romance. We don’t need the entire story or pace to reach an obsessive point – or to “take over” so nothing else can be of importance, however by the time the end rolls around, a reader desperately wants to believe in the romance angle. In other words, if the couple hasn’t indicated interest beyond physical attraction and in an effort to put them together in the final 50 pages, they declare their love, uh-uh, sorry but I’m not going to buy it.

5.) [Less] Love Triangles: expanding on topic number 3, love triangles are insanely popular in YA/teen fiction and really, I don’t mind it if the heroine isn’t so insanely wishy-washy in her feelings for the two dudes vying for her attention. I mean, really… If there is one excuse, it’d be that the characters are teenagers which – let’s face it, pretty much excuses everything, however if the girls (and I use the heroine as the one caught in the middle since I’ve rarely if ever seen it be two girls and one boy caught in a love triangle) were more decided and it was just the “other” dude still trying to win her, I don’t think I mind nearly as much.

6.) Spy Stories: okay, so I know… there are probably no shortage of spy stories out there, I just haven’t read them yet and who’s fault is that…? That’s right, none but my own. Still, can I help it if I lovelovelove shows like Covert Affairs?

7.) Unique Character Names: unless they’re hard to pronounce, I want to see more individual character names. For me, the more unique the names, the more I remember them. For example, The Hunger Games gang have names I haven’t forgotten (Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Malark, Gale Hawthorne). Names like Eden (It Had to be You by Susan May Warren) or Jade McKinley (Dancing with Fireflies by Denise Hunter) are beautiful and feminine, yet easy-to-pronounce and “unusual” in the best sense. Or in her upcoming novel, Dani Petrey’s Kayden McKenna. The more original, the more I’m apt to associate a character to their story and remember them.

Now, it’s time to hear from you, friends!
What would you like to see more (or less) of from authors and books?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten (Or Seven) Tuesday: Things on my Reading Wishlist”

    1. Ha! Yes, and I love your book count that uses Insta-Love – some days it feels like AT LEAST that many. 😉

      Thanks again for your kind words – I have TOO much fun creating these, really. Primarily I use the Stampin’ Up digital program which I am pretty sure you can download a trial of on stampinup.com. Occasionally I do make use of the free program Pic Monkey also however mostly it’s the former. 🙂

Leave a Comment

