random fun

Top Ten Tuesday: Debut Authors of 2014

It’s Tuesday again which means I’m jumping back on the Top Ten Tuesday meme train and this is the first I’ve participated in of the new year. The topic today is:

Top Ten 2014 Debuts I’m Excited For

I’m kind of breaking the “rules” for this topic today since news about debut authors isn’t readily available this early in the year. Instead of “just debuts” as the topic calls for, you’ll find a mix-up of various different authors below. Some will be debuts I’m curious about, others won’t be debut authors but they’re names I haven’t read yet and their upcoming 2014 release has me excited which means hopefully 2014 will be the year I’ll actually read one of their novels. Here are those 2014 titles.
Books on the List:
1.) Blonde Ops by Charlotte Bernardo and Natalie Zamen: The Devil Wears Prada meets Bond…? Yes, please! It looks cute and sounds like a decent plot. Cannot wait.
2. ) Until I Found You by Victoria Bylin: Victoria is a published author however this is her first novel with Bethany House. Not only does the cover convey a beautiful story, the book blurb makes this sound like a must-read. This is definitely one of my most anticipated for 2014.
3.) Friend Me by John Faubion: this concept sounds unique. It’s not the same plot of prior suspense and sounds like the kind of thriller that would be a page-turner.
4.) A Woman of Fortune by Kellie Coates Gilbert: with its gorgeous cover (a contemporary dressing its model in an eye-catching gown is a beautiful “twist”), this novel captured my fancy early on. The synopsis just raises my curiosity.
5.) Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: we’ve all chatted about this novel before, so…
6.) The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski: this one just sounds… intriguing. I’ve not read anything by this author however the premise and cover art is “enough” temptation.
7.) The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer Smith: I’ve heard good reports about this author by friends whose opinions I trust and since I’m ALWAYS on the hunt for good YA author recommendations, I’m curious to try some of Jennifer’s novels.
8.) The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes: basically, I just think this cover art is adorbs. 😉
9.) Miracle of the Dry Season by Sarah Loudin Thomas: a friend recently brought this book up which led to me checking into it. It sounds interesting… and in the best sense of the word.
10.) My Faire Lady by Laura Wettersten: this one has appeared on lists also, but… come on! How cute is this cover; I just couldn’t resist.
How about you, friends!
Which 2014 debuts are you anticipating?
As always, if you joined in this  meme, I’d love to read your post!
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Debut Authors of 2014”

    1. Me, too, Cassie! The cover art it very whimsical and draws the eye. A friend recommended Jennifer’s novels, so I’m anxious to give her books a shot. Hope you enjoy the book if you ever read it.

      Thanks! I have WAY too much fun putting these memes together. Sometimes I tell myself they’re “too busy” in design but I can’t seem to help adding more elements. 😉

      1. They’re definitely not too busy. I love it! And I also have that picture (the one that’s your picture for comments) on my desktop. I love it so much as a redheaded girl haha. 🙂

      2. …Well, thank you! I’m glad they aren’t overwhelming or busy, Cassie. I just have too much fun with them. 😉

        Isn’t that sketch awesome!? I found it somewhere online and it just seemed “perfect” for a profile pic. Like you, I like the red hair.

Leave a Comment

